At-Home Facials

Hi everyone! With the holidays upon us, I wanted to write a post about quick & easy facials you can give yourself at home (saving yourself time & money). We all need to exfoliate 2-3 times a week and apply a facial mask once a week. I’ve been using Dermalogica Skin Prep Scrub as an exfoliant. It’s on the gritty side, so if you prefer a creamier exfoliant, this isn’t the product for you. I have a few favorite facial masks that are near & dear to my heart.

LUSH | I absolute adore LUSH masks – they’re fresh and made with pure ingredients, including a variety of fruits & vegetables. You can find their masks in any LUSH store, in their refrigerated section. These masks MUST be kept refrigerated, and you must use them by the expiration date. Because they’re made with the freshest ingredients and no preservatives, they stay good for about 2 weeks. I typically get 5-7 uses out of one container. I believe they get fresh masks in on Thursdays, so that’s when I like to grab mine. I wash & exfoliate my face, then apply a generous layer of the mask (you don’t have to use a lot, but I like to pamper myself!). Leave the mask on for 20 minutes or so, then rinse off with lukewarm water. Apply your favorite moisturizer, and let your skin glow! My favorite LUSH mask is called Catastrophe Cosmetic – it’s packed with blueberries and calamine to soothe your skin. LUSH offers a wide variety of facial masks for any skin concern. They also offer several body care products – if you haven’t checked them out yet, I highly encourage you to do so! They’re amazing. *LUSH also offers an incredible recycling program – just save any 5 LUSH containers, clean them out, and redeem them at any location for a free face mask! Recycling couldn’t be any easier!

 

IMG_9646

 

BLISS | I recently picked up a bliss triple oxygen facial in a box from my local TJ Maxx. To say I love this facial set is a huge understatement.I’m OBSESSED with it. The set comes with 3 products: 1. triple oxygen instant energizing mask,  2. that’s incredi-‘peel’, and  3. triple oxygen ex-‘glow’-sion. The mask is unlike any other I’ve ever tried. You wash your face, then pump the mask 2-3 times onto your fingers, then massage onto your clean, dry skin. The mask foams up and feels like it’s kind of dripping down your face. It’s so unique. After 5 minutes or so, after a full froth has formed, you rinse your face off. Then take one of the individually wrapped glycolic peel pads and wipe that all over  your face. Because it has glycolic acid, it will sting slightly (nothing uncomfortable though!). If you have any type of rash, sunburn, or cut on your face, do NOT use this product. After you have wiped the pad on your face, let it dry – do not rinse it off! Once it has dried, take one of the individually wrapped moisturizers and massage that into your face & neck. This moisturizer has quickly become my favorite – it’s intensely hydrating and it smells DIVINE. It has a sweet citrus scent, but it’s not too sweet. It’s perfect & I will be purchasing this moisturizer once I finish my current moisturizer. I’ve never felt like this about a moisturizer before. Ever.

 

IMG_9647

 

I hope all of you take one day out of your week to pamper yourself with an at-home facial! I do mine while watching a favorite show or reading a magazine. It’s so important to take care of your skin & your mental health – you deserve it!

 

xo,

SAJ

Leave a comment